Amit Mishra makes comeback, included in squad for Sri Lanka Tests

Amit Mishra makes comeback, included in squad for Sri Lanka Tests

There was not much of surprise as Amit Mishra gets picked for the Indian squad touring Sri Lanka for three Tests starting August 12. The selectors have also included KL Rahul as third opener, who missed out the Bangladesh tour due to illness.

The squad remains the same with Harbhajan Singh retaining his place as the leading spinner with R Ashwin and legspinner Amit Mishra. The 15-member squad will be led by Virat Kohli.

The pace attack comprises of Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Mishra has been the only change, who last played a Test in 2011 and comes in place of Karn Sharma. Both Karn and Mohammad Shami were not discussed due to fitness problem.

The selectors also retained Rahul as an extra opener for the tour who scored 96 on Wednesday playing for India A against Australia A in Chennai. However, Cheteshwar Pujara currently leading India A has managed to keep his place in the middle-order after getting dropped in the lone Test against Bangladesh.

Wriddhiman Saha is the only wicketkeeper travelling to Sri Lanka but the selectors said that they have nominated a reserve wicketkeeper who will be sent on short notice if a need arises.

In another development, BCCI has informed that Test skipper Kohli will be playing in the second unofficial Test in Chennai involving India A and Australia A. It seems Kohli had requested the board to be selected for the match in order to get some match practice before the tour.

Talking to the media, chairman of selectors Sandeep Patil said that it is the best possible team for Sri Lanka.

“Karn and Shami are yet to recover from injury, so they have not been considered. But we tried to get balance and this is best possible team for Sri Lanka,” Patil said.

On Harbhajan and Mishra, the chairman of selectors said that the Haryana legspinner was always in the scheme of things.

“I’m very happy with Harbhajan’s comeback and Mishra was always in the scheme of things. Moreover as selectors our job is to provide the captain and coach with the best team,” Patil also said.

India squad for SL: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Harbhajan Singh, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra.

Show Comments

No Responses Yet

Leave a Reply